The New Today
Local News

Plans for special ECCB bank note to mark 50 years of Independence

This is a regular EC$50.00 bill in circulation in the OECS among its member states

Prime Minister Dickon Mitchell has made his first major announcement about Grenada’s celebration of 50 years of Independence on February 7, 2024.

He told Grenadians in a national television and radio broadcast that the National Democratic Congress (NDC) government is looking to get the Eastern Caribbean Central Bank (ECCB) to issue a special bank note to mark the special occasion.

“As part of our Golden Jubilee, I am happy to report that Cabinet has approved and made a request of the Eastern Caribbean Central Bank (ECCB) to issue a special celebratory, commemorative $50.00 E.C. note to mark Grenada’s 50th year of independence. We anticipate that the ECCB Council, which will be meeting in July, will agree and approve the request,” he said.

The ECCB Monetary Council is made up of the Finance Ministers of the member states of the sub-regional grouping known as the Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States (OECS).

Finance Minister Dennis Cornwall is Grenada’s representative on the body whose primary role is to maintain the stability of the EC Dollar and the integrity of the banking system.

Prime Minister Dickon Mitchell also announced the appointment of Dr. Wendy Crawford, a product of the 1979-83 Grenada Revolution as head of a special select committee of persons which includes a representative from each parish to organise and manage Grenada’s 50th independence celebrations.

Related:  Parliament approves stricter Gun Laws

“The celebrations will commence in earnest in September 2023 and will span the entire year of 2024,” he said.

Grenada was led to independence from Great Britain on February 7, 1974 by then Premier Eric Gairy as head of the Grenada United Labour Party (GULP) government on the island.

There are only three living Prime Ministers – current head of government Dickon Mitchell, as well as Dr. Keith Mitchell, the longest serving with 23 years on the job, as well as Tillman Thomas of Congress whose stint was between 2008-13.

Apart from Sir Eric, the other persons to hold the office of Prime Minister are Marxist leader Maurice Bishop, Herbert Blaize, Ben Jones, Sir Nicholas Brathwaite and George Brizan.

If you are satisfied with the information provided by The New Today to our many readers, followers and supporters around the world, then you can show your appreciation by making a financial contribution to the effort of our team of dedicated workers.

Giving back is a way of saying thank you for our efforts

Support The New Today